Tags

, , ,


I have been reading Beowulf in English class these days, I think its a pretty decent poem. I love the whole epic poem setting (wrote one myself, about 6 years ago about Eowyn from Lord of the Rings). What I didn’t like is that I have to write a 3-5 page essay about either one of the characters! Seriously a 5 page essay on Grendel is not something I look forward to. I wouldn’t even look froward to a 1 page paper on Grendel (Grendel was a monster and he liked humans for food, and he was killed by Beowulf). I could possibly write that Grendel had daddy issues and he is raised by his mother, and that he vents his internal anger by eating Hrothgar’s soldiers (very satisfying I suppose, but not productive). But I don’t want to turn this paper into a bloody psychological analysis. Sometimes I wish that I didn’t have to go so deep into a characters mind, you know read a story for the sake of the story itself. Maybe I’ll just write a character sketch about Beowulf (the easy way out…..).

