Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Period movies…..what is it about them that I love so much? Is it the lush background, the superb costumes, or is it the age-old plot of romance? Ever since I can remember I loved watching these movies, if I saw a bonnet while browsing through channels rest assured I would watch that movie.

I absolutely love this time in history!! I would actually love to live in that time, provided I had a good income, education, and a daily bath. Take the movie Miss Potter for instant, it shows us that even in those days accomplished, and privileged women were independent.

The lovely Renée Zellweger as Miss Potter

This period was the golden age of literature,  specially romance. Great authors like Jane Austen, and the Bronte sisters lived in these periods. The people of this time were undoubtedly in the center of the action when it came to writing. They could stand in line and get the first copy of Jane Austen’s “Emma” (not that they did that, waiting half the night for a books release in the morning is a pretty modern trend.)

Olivia Williams is the perfect Jane Austen in “Miss Austen Regrets”

Another good thing about this era was that they knew how to party. Their cotillion, and ball room dances were pretty cool. The Waltz, and the other country dances were so well-organized. They were spirited, but not too lively; as the hero and heroine of the movie always have the chance to engage in a lively battle of wits while dancing.

Matthew Macfayden and Keira Knightley dance in this scene from "Pride and Prejudice"

All these are reasons why I love period dramas, especially those set in the Regency period. And the title of this post doesn’t make any sense….

